Driver Education for students 14½ to 18 years of age
Effective November 15, 2020 the DMV is requiring appointments for all services. Walk in customers will no longer be accepted at any DMV location. Please schedule an appointment here.
Drivers Education 101 - Classroom Only
- 30 hours of instruction using state approved curriculum from the American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association (ADTSEA).
- All instructors are certified teachers in the state of Colorado.
- Meets the qualifications for most insurance certifications.
- Classes are offered at Red Canyon High School in Gypsum or our new Greeley office at 2009 9th street.
- For those meeting the age requirement, the Colorado Written Permit Test will be administered on the last day of class.
- Requires four full days of instruction, 8:30am to 4:30pm.
- Requires six hours of homework.
- 8 students minimum required to run a class session.
- This course is mandatory for students 14½ to 15½ years of age in order to obtain a Learner's Permit.
Drivers Education - Online Classroom
- 30 hours at your own pace.
- Designed in Colorado
- Aligned to Colorado Laws
- Mobile Device Compatible
- Completion Certificates Mailed to You
- 24/7 Phone Support
Behind the Wheel Instruction
- This is mandatory for students under 16½ .
- 6 hours of total instruction, broking into three lessons of two hours each
- Lessons must be spread out over 3 different days
- 1 on 1 instruction
- All instructors are certified teachers by the Colorado Department of Education.
- Colorado State approved curriculum from the American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association (ADTSEA).
- Curriculum includes: preparing a vehicle, basic maneuvering, visualization of travel path, speed control, following time and space, communication and courtesy, problem solving, collision avoidance, emergency situation response, and alcohol/drug risks.
Complete Driver Training Package
- Includes Drivers Education 101 and Behind the Wheel Training
- This combined package includes written test
- Save big by combining services now
3rd Party Drive and Written Tests
- Alpine Driving School administers 3rd Party Drive Tests and written tests in Edwards, Gypsum and Littleton
- The DMV is no longer administering drive tests.
- Alpine Driving School performs drive tests daily: mornings, afternoons, and weekends.
- Fill out the contact form or text 970-618-2822 to request a drive test or written test.
- We try our hardest to accommodate you and your schedule and can generally schedule within a day to one week.
- Drive Testers speak Spanish and written tests are available in Spanish and English
$15 for written tests
$70 for drive tests