Frequently Asked Questions
Effective November 15, 2020 the DMV is requiring appointments for all services. Walk in customers will no longer be accepted at any DMV location. Please schedule an appointment here.
Students may obtain their permit at age 15 if they have completed 30 hours of classroom instruction prior to their birthday. Students may enroll in Drivers Education 101 at 14 1/2 years, but must be 15 to obtain the minor instruction permit. The minor instruction permit must be held for a minimum of one year prior to applying for a driver's license.
Visit http://www.coteendriver.com for more information on Colorado's Graduated Drivers License laws.
Depends on the age of your child. Examine this diagram to see what your child needs.
Driver's Education is the classroom portion of a student's driving program. Driver's Education can be completed in four sessions beginning at 8:30am and ending at 4:30pm..
No, during the 8:30am – 4:30pm class there are activities that take students out of the classroom, along with several breaks and a 30-minute lunch.
The State of Colorado requires the following topics be covered in all Driver's Education Programs:
a. Rules of the Road
b. Psychology of Driving
c. Emotions and Attitude
d. Defensive Driving
e. Basic Car Control and Safety Features
f. Alcohol and Drugs
g. Signs, Signals And Road Markings
i. Handling Emergencies and Travel Tips
j. The Automobile, It's Construction and Care
k. Written and Drive test preparation
We show state of the art videos, use an approved Driver's Education textbook, use the Colorado Drivers Handbook, give mock permit tests, incorporate student presentations, and have guest speakers.
No. The classes are topic specific so they need not be taken in order. The student can start with any of the four classes, as they are on constant rotation.
If your child misses a class you will need to call to check to verify when that particular session is to be offered again. Our classes are on a constant rotation and most make-up classes can be attended by the student when the missed session is next offered; this is subject to availability and class size.
You can securely register online. Or CLICK HERE
Your child needs to bring lunch and a cell phone (if he/she has one).
No. The only time your child will need their birth certificate or social security card is when you go to apply for the permit or the license test.
Alpine Driving School offers several payment options:
a. Pre-pay online with credit card
b. or pay at the time of service with check or cash.
All Payments must be in office prior to starting any program with Alpine Driving School.
After Driver's Education is completed, your child will be issued a certificate of completion of Driver's Education. Your child will need to take their certificate to the DMV along with their birth certificate, Social Security card, and a completed DR 2460 form (Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship). Once they obtain the permit, he/she will be eligible to take the behind the wheel part of the driving program.
At Alpine Driving School, we will make every effort to accommodate your child. Our classroom location is wheelchair accessible. Beyond that, please let us know what appropriate accommodations we can made for your child.
We suggest the classroom for optimal learning, but if online is needed, CLICK HERE
Classes are held Red Canyon High School in Gypsum or our New Littleton location 3625 W. Bowles Ave Unit #19
Your child can take Driver's Education 101 at age of 14½ years.
If you are trying to log into your main account (to purchase more lessons, schedule your behind the wheel driving, etc) then click the log-in at the home page. For drivers education online log-in it is the same link, it is also found in the footer of each page for your convenience.
No, our lessons are private and all our instructors go through background checks every year through the Colorado Bureau of Investigation.
In common with other websites, log files are stored on the web server saving details such as the visitor's IP address, browser type, referring page and time of visit. Cookies may be used to remember visitor preferences when interacting with the website. Where registration is required, the visitor's email and a username will be stored on the server.
The information is used to apply to outstanding balances only. E-mail addresses will not be sold, rented or leased to 3rd parties. E-mail may be sent to inform you of news of our services or offers by us or our affiliates.
You may be able to block cookies via your browser settings but this may prevent you from access to certain features of the website.
Cookies are small digital signature files that are stored by your web browser that allow your preferences to be recorded when visiting the website. Also they may be used to track your return visits to the website.
- Refunds are given on a case-by-case basis.
- Refunds for the Drivers ED 101 class are given because of illness, conflict with family emergency, school and athletic events. Alpine Driving School understands demands on our families. We will always try to work with you through scheduling and other alternatives first. Alpine Driving School will give full refund for students who are physically unable to attend the drivers ed session they signed up for.
- Refunds for the online drivers ed course will not be given once the student has begun the course.
- There are no refunds for drive tests.
- Refunds for behind the wheel drive lessons are given on a case-by-case basis. Typically, the only reason for a refund would be in the case the student has moved out of state or more than two hours from the Eagle County area or if they have become injured and can longer drive. Refunds will not be given for drive lessons because a student "aged out" or decided they are no longer interested in driving.
- Alpine Driving School understands there are hardships and things beyond our control; especially in the age of Covid. Our employees are also dealing with these hardships, so we respectfully ask that you allow Alpine Driving School the opportunity to work on solutions before refunds are given.